Since March, Canada has held the largest PNP draw

Since March, Canada has held the largest PNP draw

The fresh draw’s outcomes, as well as the 16 occupations that will be eligible for Express Entry in November.

On June 8, Canada issued invitations to 932 Express Entry candidates to apply for permanent residence.

In the new draw, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) exclusively invited candidates from the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP). As a result, a minimum score of 796 was required to be admitted to this round. Because PNP candidates receive an automatic 600 Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) point boost, the score was relatively high.

This is the largest invitation round since Canada accepted 1,047 PNP hopefuls on March 2. IRCC invited 589 PNP candidates with scores of at least 741 in the previous Express Entry lottery.

What is Express Entry, and how does it work?

Express Entry is the application management system for the Canadian Experience Class, the Federal Skilled Worker Program, and the Federal Skilled Trades Program, which are Canada’s three most popular immigration programs. At least one of these programs has already qualified PNP candidates in the Express Entry pool.

Express Entry ranks candidates’ profiles using a points-based mechanism known as the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS). Candidates with the highest scores receive an Invitation to Seek (ITA), which they can use to apply for permanent residency.

After a candidate submits an application, an IRCC officer evaluates it and makes a decision. 

The officer will seek biometrics and may schedule an interview or require additional paperwork.

IRCC issues a Confirmation of Permanent Residence if the application is approved (COPR). Permanent residents who have been approved can then finish the landing process. They can use pre-arrival services to assist them with the first steps of settling in Canada if they are outside of Canada.

Who was the guest of honour?

The following is an example of someone who might have been selected in the new Express Entry draw.

Rajeev is 39 years old, has a bachelor’s degree, and has spent the last six years as a construction manager. Rajeev is fluent in English but has never worked or studied in Canada. With a CRS of 386, he qualified for the Express Entry pool. Through Alberta’s Express Entry route, he recently received a provincial nomination. His revised CRS score of 986 would have qualified him for an ITA in the new Express Entry lottery.

There will be 16 new jobs that will be eligible for Express Entry.

In November, the National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2021 will take effect, making the following 16 jobs eligible for Express Entry:

  • Payroll administrators;
  • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants;
  • Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates;
  • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants;
  • Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants;
  • Sheriffs and bailiffs;
  • Correctional service officers;
  • By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers;
  • Estheticians, electrologists and related occupations;
  • Residential and commercial installers and servicers;
  • Pest controllers and fumigators;
  • Other repairers and services;
  • Transport truck drivers;
  • Bus drivers, subway operators and other transit operators;
  • Heavy equipment operators; and
  • Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.

There will also be three jobs that are no longer eligible:

  • other performers;
  • program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport and fitness; and
  • tailors, dressmakers, furriers and milliners.

Other Canadian immigration programs may still be open to these three vocations.

Currently, vocations that fall within NOC skill levels 0, A, and B are exclusively eligible for Express Entry. The new approach specifies the degree of TEER (Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities) that each occupation requires. A new six-category system will replace the current four-category “skill level” framework. As a result of the reclassification, 16 previously ineligible jobs are now eligible.

The table below compares the six-category structure of the new NOC to the skill levels of the present NOC 2016.

NOC 2016NOC 2021
Skill Type 0TEER 0
Skill Type ATEER 1
Skill Type BTEER 2
Skill Type BTEER 3
Skill Type CTEER 4
Skill Type DTEER 5

The TEER system is replacing the skill type model for two reasons, according to Statistics Canada. To begin, the TEER system tries to clarify the amount of education and experience required to work in a certain occupation. Second, the skill-type model artificially divides employment into low- and high-skilled categories. The goal of implementing TEER is to provide stakeholders with a better understanding of the skills needed for each occupation.

This tool from Statistics Canada allows you to compare your current NOC to NOC 2021.